Skip to main navigation.

Welcome to Clay-Union Electric

On November 25, 1935, 17 area men met in Burbank to organize the first rural electric cooperative in South Dakota. This organization was known as Fairview Electric Association and was later renamed Clay-Union Electric. For over 80 years, Clay-Union Electric has been providing excellent customer service and reliable, cost efficient electricity to our members. Our cooperative is owned by those we serve.

Please look around and discover all the things your coop has to offer. If you have any questions or need more information, please contact us.


WARNING - Scam Alert

Clay-Union has received notice from a local resident, stating that they had received a phone call from an individual that claimed to be representing Clay-Union Electric.

This is a robotic caller scam, where someone is using a local phone number, so it gives the impression or appearance to be a local call. It appears that the scammer was trying to sell a credit card or something along that line. The scammer will claim to be able to lower the interest rate that you are paying and will need some personal information to get that done. 

Clay-Union will not call our members, questioning their personal finances or credit. If you get a call from someone claiming to be with Clay-Union and you suspect it to be a scam, tell them you’ll call back and then call Clay-Union at 605-624-2673 or 800-696-2832. Clay-Union Electric has reported this scam to the Attorney General’s office.








Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Together we Save logo REED Fund logo Trustwave logo